5 Villains that I honestly hated

A while ago, I wrote an article about the bad guys I honestly enjoyed watching on the big screen. After watching Suicide Squad and thinking a lot, I’ve decided to write about the villains I actually hated. Whether by bad acting by actors, or by the evil actions of the characters themselves, these top 5 people have earned my eternal enmity. Please note that these ten villains are taken from both movies and TV shows. Cartoon, anime, comic, manga or other characters are not on this list.

That said; allow me to introduce the first entry at

5. Macklyn Warlow/Ben Flynn (True Blood):

I actually had mixed views about this show. It was great about four seasons or so and then two villains, both of these that are on this list came and ruined it. One of these was Warlow. Can you please explain what his purpose in the show was again? Frankly, I have zero clue. Sure, at the beginning, back when he was still mysterious and all that, he was kinda cool. When we got to the part where we see him on screen, my only thought was an unamused ‘what?’

He was the bad guy, right?

Then what the hell was up with his saving people for Sookie kick? I think he actually forgot that he was supposed to be evil. He was not supposed to be like ‘Sookie tie me up so I wouldn’t hurt people’ and shit. No. Just no. Hurting people is in the bad guy description. This guy was about as evil as a wet paper towel. The only evil thing he did was kill off Niall’s tribe and even that could be chalked up to a young vampire among fairies. By the end of his run on the once good True Blood series, I was frankly pissed off.

I expected to see a bad ass villain in the shape of a vampire/fairy hybrid.

Heck, Vampire Diaries managed to succeed when it gave us Klaus.

So, what the hell, True Blood?

Now, before I start ranting even more, I give you the next entry on this list.

4. Billith (True Blood):

This is the second villain that ruined the True Blood TV series for me. I can admit that I was never a fan of Bill Compton, but he was getting better. He was finally recovering from being pussy whipped by Sookie and becoming someone I might actually like as a character.

Then Billith came.

Season 5 ended almost perfectly for me. Spoilers to anyone who has still not seen that episode, but Bill got killed off. Did he stay dead?

No.

Wait, what?

No really.

What?!

I thought the rules of being a vampire are simple. An eternity with the possibility of getting the True Death as in you get killed and it’s curtains for you. No second chance in life. No reboot. That’s why it’s called the True Death for God’s sake!

Neither the TB universe nor the books they were based on even mention that if you take some weird ass blood, the normal rules of True Death do not apply.

I don’t care that it’s supposed to be the blood of an insanely old vampire.

Godric was old and he didn’t rise from a pile of ash when he met the sun.

Including weird ass shit like Lilith and her hallucinogen blood is not a good thing.

It’s lazy writing. It shows that the creators of the series were completely out of ideas and couldn’t think of anything better.

I mean the first vampire, yes okay, I suppose I could suspend my disbelief for that.

After all, vampires had to come from somewhere.

I can also suspend my disbelief at vampires being created by God given the theme of vampires vs religion throughout the series.

But Billith?

Seriously?!

I watched Billith and my promise to at least tolerate Bill Compton died a quick death after living a short and unsatisfying life.

The next entry is

3. John Gilbert (Vampire Diaries):

This show had its own share of villains, but none pissed me off more than Elena’s father did. Considering the fact that the show gave us Klaus, Damon, Katherine and whoever that hunter guy from season 4 was, it’s a true accomplishment.

This enmity had absolutely nothing to do how John was written.

In fact, the creators did an amazing job with him.

The fact that he’s human is an icing on the cake. It means that he’s so shrewd that even Damon, the badass 100+ year old vampire feels like he’s a major threat.

What earned my complete enmity was the killing of Pearl and Anna.

Now in case you don’t know, during John’s tenure as the big bad, vampires that were sealed in a tomb near Mystic Falls were released. Amongst them were two that endeared themselves to me from their first appearance Pearl and her daughter Anna. They were just people that wanted to lead a peaceful life despite being vampires. Pearl even took up the mantle of leader of the tomb vampires to make sure they don’t go batshit insane and start a murder spree in Mystic Falls.

Then John Gilbert killed them both not only killing the only sane vampire amongst the rest of the tomb vampires, but also his nephew’s girlfriend.

Dick move, dude. Dick move.

  1. Amanda Waller (Suicide Squad):

Now, before people start hating on me, hear me out. Yes, I did watch Suicide Squad. Yes, I liked it. And yes, I did refer to Amanda Waller as a villain.

Amongst people like Harley Quinn, The Joker, Deadshot, Killer Croc and the others how in seven hells could an ordinary woman be a villain.

Let’s take a look at her actions, shall we?

  • She released crazy characters from behind bars;
  • She was happy when Rick Flag fell in love with a woman that was possessed by a crazy witch, because then she’d be easier to control;
  • She watched cooly as Deadshot nearly well…shot his guard when it was obvious that the thing was loaded with actual bullets.
  • She didn’t try to help Doctor Moone, a woman who was obviously terrified of her transformations. Instead, she chose the poor woman to be used as a weapon;
  • She didn’t feel any remorse whenever she stabbed The Enchantress’s heart, when it was obvious that Doctor Moone shared the pain The Enchantress felt whenever the said heart was stabbed;
  • She promised freedom and other rewards to the Suicide Squad for risking their asses. She didn’t keep her word. I mean honestly. Ten year off the prison sentence for nearly dying. Gee, thanks, lady!

It’s not the superpowers that make the villain. It’s the actions. And boy, these actions, when you take into consideration how strangely relatable the Suicide Squad members were to me, were simply unforgivable.


1. Now, this one was a tie between Lord Voldemort, Dolores Umbridge and Fenrir Grayback (Harry Potter):

Take your pick between a twisted Dark Lord so evil that people were afraid to say his name, a crazy Blood Quill loving bitch with a penchant to write cruel and unusual laws towards werewolves and call centaurs ‘half breeds’ of ‘near-human intelligence’ and a werewolf that got so used to the taste of blood that once a month isn’t enough for him.

For me all three of them were creeps who should’ve been chucked into the darkest cell Azkaban had to offer.

So, there you have it.

My list of top 5 vilains that I hated.

 

Leave a Reply

